Anyone planing to upgrade this sheild?

Store Forums Video Experimenter General Discussion Anyone planing to upgrade this sheild?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    burraak

Its been almost 2 years I think the great video experimenter shield need an upgrade with improved on board image processing ,color overly and color output etc in other words full feature frame grabber/processor for arduino 🙂

Michael
    Keymaster

And how would you propose accomplishing all of that on an ATmega328 microcontroller? The reason it can’t do more than it does is because there is only 2K of memory in the Arduino, and you can’t generate the composite video color burst with a 16MHz clock speed. There’s only so much you can do with an Arduino.

burraak

Sorry for the late reply actually I was looking for an answer coz I’m no electronics expert but curious to see video experimenter shield expanding its capabilities

Just wanted to know isn’t it possible to borrow some SOC like recently released ARDUINO YUN shield did, to do some serious stuff??

Like these chips
    http://www.conexant.com/Product/video/vd/CX25824/Pages/default.aspx
    http://www.ti.com/lit/ds/slas183/slas183.pdf‎

Can we merge them into video experimenter shield??? ???

Raza159

I think you could use an external pot connected to A2. If you make a voltage divider using another resistor, then the resistance of the pot will determine a smaller voltage range.

For example: connect the 5V source to 30K or 40K of resistance, then to the left lead of the pot. The middle lead of the pot goes to A2. The rightmost lead of the pot goes to GND. This way, the full range of the pot will provide 0V – 1V to A2 and this will allow finer adjustment.

Michael
    Keymaster

Yes, that is a great idea and in fact I have designed a V2 of the board which is being made right now. It has a 20K resistor to create a divider on A2, so the pot range is expanded.

Michael
    Keymaster