Help Removing a Layer

Store Forums Processing Layers General Discussion Help Removing a Layer

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

Hello all…I am using processing to create something like a whiteboard. I have decided to use the layers API as a way to enable my whiteboard to allow the manipulation of individual “drawings”. Yes, I am a newbie with processing and Java (background is C# and C++). Also, I am not looking for somebody to write this program…just to help guide me to the correct method of implementing the Layers library.

Instead of creating a panel of buttons, I have decided to try to create a simple radial menu for changing colors. Essentially, when I right-click, it pops up a new layer with different colored buttons surrounding my cursor. This works perfectly…as soon as I click the button for that color, I can now draw to my original canvas with that selected color. The problem I am having is this:

As soon as I select the desired color by pressing the button on the newly created layer, I would like that layer to be removed. I understand I have to use a ListIterator and the remove() function, but I am unsure of where it will be placed at. Any guidance? I am posting some of my code below. I apologize in advance for the heavy commenting…this was done to explain to my colleagues how to implement the Layers library.

Thanks guys…and if you can think of any better ways of accomplishing this task, I am open to suggestions!

MAIN:

import com.nootropic.processing.layers.*;

AppletLayers layers; // You must declare an object of type AppletLayers. It doesn't have to be called "layers"

boolean colorWheelDisplayed = false; // Global variable used to determine if the color wheel is presently displayed

// WHITEBOARD SETUP FOR MAIN SCREEN...BACKGROUND IS OPAQUE (NOTICE THE LACK OF AN ALPHA VALUE)
    void setup() {
    size(1024, 768);
    background(255);
    stroke(0);