video sampler

Store Forums Video Experimenter General Discussion video sampler

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    jjplano

hi

I still don’t own a video experimenter shield, but I wanted to make a couple of question about it so I go ahead and ordered one, because I want to make a device with it

I’m a video artist, and I’m working with analog video (and not so analog, but at least no “general purpose computer” is used) on live performances. since a couple of weeks I’m getting obsessed on building a video looper that allows me to make simple cicles of video on the spot, in the way electronic audio and music always use

I tried to build a simple vhs looper, but that’s more difficult than I thought, and it doesn’t allow to make short loops, they have to be at least a few seconds in lenght

so I then thought of a digital sampler, but after searching realized that it doesn’t exists as a simple commercial product (I mostly use low tech electronics as tools)

then I found this http://gieskes.nl/visual-equipment/?file=gvs1

and even do it’s not exactly what I wanted (because of the definition and color), it’s pretty close in functionality

and I can almost bet it’s the same principle used (if it isn’t his device based on this, or viceversa)

the question is, can I make with this shield that very same device? with the same and perhaps more functions? in that page are the programs he uses in his

I know how to program, but it’s not my main passion in life, so I want to get some advice because it can be a lot of work for me

I have an arduino uno sitting over here, so I thought I can give it a use and buy this shield, instead of spending almost 5 times more money on that device

thanks

Michael
    Keymaster